I hear a lot of friends talking lately about purging Facebook friends or “cleaning up their lists”. What does this mean, exactly? Well, in simple terms, it means going through your list of Facebook connections and removing those you may no longer wish to stay connected to. There are a lot of reasons why people do this. Some people just do it periodically and remove people they have not had conversations with recently. Some people want to have a cleaner feed full of only people they have actual friendships with.
Other times people purge Facebook friends because they decide they just have too many, or because they no longer have certain things in common with those old friends. Or you may have friends because you played a FB game together but now you no longer play the game. The reasons for purging Facebook friends can be as diverse as the people who use Facebook.
Unfortunately, there is no easy way to do this unless you’ve sorted your Facebook friends into lists (such as “People who play Mafia Wars”) and you want to delete/unfriend entire lists. Otherwise, you’re going to need to go to all of your friends, then manually go one-by-one to remove the ones you no longer want to be friends with. You can have up to 5,000 friends on a personal profile so if you’ve added a lot of people over the years, this could be a very arduous task.
If you have a lot of friends to sort through and you’re doing a large purge, you might decide to do a little at a time each day over the course of several days. However, I’ve found that Facebook mixes up the order that your friends are listed in at random. So if you close out and come back on another day, you won’t be able to just find the place you were at before. For this reason, some people might find ti simpler to just go through it all in one sitting.
Another thing to keep in mind is that if you have the subscriber feature enable on your profile, when you unfriend someone, they remain a follower. This means they are subscribed to your public updates and they will still be able to see your wall and any information that is public. If you don’t want them to be a follower, you’ll have to block them.
Some people, myself included, allow anyone who wants to follow them but reserves actual friends for those they know in real life and/or are close to. I then have deeper privacy settings for family only- such as to see most photos of my kids and family. When you take control of your Facebook account and settings, as well as what “friends” show in your Newsfeed, you’ll probably find that you enjoy the Facebook experience more.
Have you ever purged your friends’ list?